NSSGA celebrates industry leaders with distinguished award

By |  March 9, 2023

NSSGA logo

The National Stone, Sand & Gravel Association (NSSGA) recognizes a Barry K. Wendt Memorial Commitment Award winner each year during its Annual Convention.

The award, which NSSGA characterizes as “the most distinguished individual award presented by the association,” is given to individuals who exhibit the dedication Barry Wendt exemplified – commitment to the aggregate industry, family and the community.

The first recipient of this NSSGA honor was recognized in 1998, a year after Wendt died. According to NSSGA, Wendt was known for his outgoing, friendly disposition and spirited nature. He was a champion of the industry who often gave of his own personal time to solve industry problems.

The next Barry K. Wendt Award recipient will be the 25th. Here’s a list of those who received the award over the last decade:

Ric Suzio, York Hill Trap Rock Quarry Co. (2022)
David Thomey, Martin Marietta (2021)
Louis Griesemer, Springfield Underground (2020)
Bill Wetta, DSC Dredge (2019)
• John Wall, Braen Stone (2018)
Doug Palmore, Luck Companies (2017)
Jerry Geraghty, Rogers Group (2016)
Mike Stanczak, Lehigh Hanson (2015)
Don James, Vulcan Materials Co. (2014)
Steve Zelnak, Martin Marietta (2013)

Avatar photo

About the Author:

Kevin Yanik is editor-in-chief of Pit & Quarry. He can be reached at 216-706-3724 or kyanik@northcoastmedia.net.

Comments are closed