NSSGA accepting nominations for Wendt award

By |  October 30, 2023

NSSGA logo

The National Stone, Sand & Gravel Association (NSSGA) is currently accepting nominations for the 2024 Barry K. Wendt Memorial Commitment Award.

The award, which NSSGA describes as the most distinguished individual award it presents, is given to someone who exhibits commitment to the aggregate industry, their family and their community. The award is named after the late Barry Wendt, who was known for his outgoing and friendly disposition, his spirited nature and for being a champion of the industry.

The 2024 award will be presented during the next NSSGA Annual Convention in Nashville, Tennessee. NSSGA’s deadline for award nominations is Dec. 8.

The 2023 recipient of the Barry K. Wendt Commitment Award was Charlie Luck, president and CEO of Luck Stone. Luck received the award in March during the NSSGA Annual Convention in Las Vegas.

“To me, this recognition is an opportunity to propel what Barry Wendt was known for: his leadership and his encouragement of others to learn the ropes and take the wheel, as his daughter Kristi so eloquently described in a letter she wrote,” Luck said upon receiving the 2023 award. “The NSSGA enables each of us to deepen our commitment to our industry and the communities we serve by consistently illuminating opportunities for us to get involved in areas that align with our passions and skillsets.

“Like my grandfather, father and Barry Wendt, I believe that when we nurture people’s talents and present them with learning and growth opportunities, they can exceed their wildest dreams and make a lasting difference in the lives of others,” Luck added.

Related: What you missed at NSSGA’s 2023 Legislative & Policy Forum

This article is tagged with , , , , and posted in News
Avatar photo

About the Author:

Kevin Yanik is editor-in-chief of Pit & Quarry. He can be reached at 216-706-3724 or kyanik@northcoastmedia.net.

Comments are closed