SME assembles mine safety certification board

By |  April 27, 2017

The Society for Mining, Metallurgy & Exploration (SME) organized a board of directors that will manage and administer its Certified Mine Safety Professional (CMSP) and Mine Safety Professional (MSP) certifications.

The CMSP and MSP certifications were acquired by SME from the International Society for Mine Safety Professionals (ISMSP) earlier this year.

According to SME, the board will operate as the International Academy for Mine Safety & Health of SME (IAMSH of SME) and will be chaired by Tom Hethmon, the 2016 chair of the SME Health & Safety Division.

The board members consist of both former ISMSP members and SME members. They include:

  • H.L. Boiling, CMSP – principal, Boling & Associates and founding member of ISMSP
  • Mike Brnich, CMS – lead, Mining Engineering Technology Integration Team, NIOSH
  • Bruce Huber, CMSP – vice president, safety & health, Silver Standard Resources Inc.
  • Tom Hethmon, MS, CIH, ROH, MAIOH, FAIHA – principal, Hethmon Associates Inc.
  • Stacy Kramer, MPH, CSP – vice president, global safety and health, Freeport-McMoRan
  • Dr. Ann Masse, Ph.D. – vice president, safety & health, Goldcorp
  • Brian McNamara, CMSP – safety and health manager, Bluegrass Materials Co.
  • Matthew Pedersen-Howard, MSc., C. Eng., CSP – vice president, safety & health, Peabody Energy Co.
  • Suresh Rajapaske – vice president, health, safety and security, Newmont Mining Corp.
  • Craig Ross, CMSP – vice president, safety & health, Barrick Gold Corp.
  • Michael Wegleitner, MS, CSP, CMSP – director, health & safety, Hecla Mining Inc.
  • William York-Feirn, PE, CMSP – director, Mine Safety Program, State of Colorado

SME is a professional society whose members represent all professions serving the mining, minerals and underground construction industries in more than 100 countries.

This article is tagged with , and posted in News
Avatar photo

About the Author:

Allison Kral is the former senior digital media manager for North Coast Media (NCM). She completed her undergraduate degree at Ohio University where she received a Bachelor of Science in magazine journalism from the E.W. Scripps School of Journalism. She works across a number of digital platforms, which include creating e-newsletters, writing articles and posting across social media sites. She also creates content for NCM's Portable Plants magazine, GPS World magazine and Geospatial Solutions. Her understanding of the ever-changing digital media world allows her to quickly grasp what a target audience desires and create content that is appealing and relevant for any client across any platform.

Comments are closed