NSSGA to present Excellence Awards at AGG1

By |  September 2, 2015

The National Stone, Sand & Gravel Association (NSSGA) will be presenting its Awards of Excellence at its annual convention and AGG1 in Nashville, Tenn., March 20-23, 2016. The awards honor companies and individuals who operate safely, engage their communities and are stewards of the environment. They also recognize operations and industry professionals for their contributions to the stone, sand and gravel industry as a whole.

“NSSGA’s annual awards recognize the best, the brightest and most innovative operations in our industry,” says Mike Johnson, NSSGA president and CEO. “These are the operations that lead the way in enhancing the stone, sand and gravel operations for the benefit of our workers, our environment and our communities. By constantly improving, aggregates producers provide a better, more affordable and more sustainable product in order to grow our industry and provide the best raw materials to build America’s tomorrow.”

Operators can apply for a variety of awards, including:

  • Safety Excellence Awards: The Safety Excellence Awards recognize individual operations with exemplary safety records in their size category among other NSSGA member companies.
  • James M. Christie Safety and Health Professional of the Year: This award is given to an NSSGA member for outstanding leadership in promoting worker safety and health.
  • Sterling Safety Award: This award recognizes member companies that achieve the lowest injury incidence rates for the previous calendar year in their size category.
  • Environmental Excellence Award: The Environmental Excellence Award provides national recognition for aggregates producers that exceed technical, environmental and regulatory requirements.
  • Environmental Leadership Award: This award is given to an individual who has made superior contributions to their company’s or industry’s effort to achieve environmentally sound operating practices.
  • Community Relations: The Excellence in Community Relations Awards recognize aggregate producers who enhance the public’s perception of the industry through community outreach.
  • Barry K. Wendt Commitment Award: This award is presented to an individual who exhibits a commitment to the industry and his/her community.

Apply for the awards here.

Avatar photo

About the Author:

Allison Kral is the former senior digital media manager for North Coast Media (NCM). She completed her undergraduate degree at Ohio University where she received a Bachelor of Science in magazine journalism from the E.W. Scripps School of Journalism. She works across a number of digital platforms, which include creating e-newsletters, writing articles and posting across social media sites. She also creates content for NCM's Portable Plants magazine, GPS World magazine and Geospatial Solutions. Her understanding of the ever-changing digital media world allows her to quickly grasp what a target audience desires and create content that is appealing and relevant for any client across any platform.

Comments are closed