National Mining Hall of Fame names 2012 inductees

By |  May 31, 2012

The National Mining Hall of Fame announced its 2012 inductees. Representing the equipment manufacturing, minerals exploration, copper, and coal sectors of the industry, this year’s four inductees cover a diverse cross-section of the mining industry.

Glen A. Barton, J. David Lowell, Samuel Newhouse and John Cleveland Osgood will join 214 other mining industry pioneers when they are formally inducted into the National Mining Hall of Fame at the 25th Silver Anniversary Induction Banquet & Ceremony, Sept. 22, in Las Vegas. They were selected for being visionaries, leaders and ambassadors, both within their own sectors and across the industry at large.

Perhaps most notable to the aggregates industry is Glen Barton. His leadership made Caterpillar the world’s leading provider of mining equipment by creating the roots that support the organization today. His global career included managing operations in the United States, Europe and South America. He retired as chairman and CEO of Caterpillar in 2004.

National Mining Hall of Fame Executive Director, Bob Hartzell said, “We are very proud to have the opportunity to honor these luminaries of the mining industry by inducting them into our Hall of Fame. Each has made an indelible contribution to mining, and they join the company of some legendary mining figures in the Hall of Fame.”

In other National Mining Hall of Fame news, the group selected the National Mining Association (NMA) as its 2012 Gary Prazen Living Legend of Mining Award winner. The National Mining Hall of Fame presents the Prazen Award to an individual or organization each year that has demonstrated a continuing commitment to educate the public on the vital importance of mining.

About the Author:

Darren Constantino is an editor of Pit & Quarry magazine. He can be reached at

Comments are closed