Explosives companies recognized for safety excellence

By |  May 9, 2023

Logo: The Institute of Makers of Explosives (IME)

The Institute of Makers of Explosives (IME) awarded nine of its member companies with a Safety & Health Certificate of Excellence, recognizing those with a total recordable incidents rate that is better than the average rate achieved by the chemical manufacturing industry overall.

Those receiving the annual award from IME are Austin Powder Co., Dyna Energetics, Dyno Nobel, GEODynamics, Halliburton’s Jet Research Center, Hunting Titan, MP Associates, Nelson Brothers and Orica USA.

According to IME, the nine member companies receiving the award in 2023 is the most to earn the award in a single year in the last nine years.

“I want to congratulate each of these companies for their commitment to creating a safe working environment,” says Clark Mica, IME president. “The commercial explosives industry is committed to the safe manufacture, transport, distribution and use of commercial explosives, and these companies we’re recognizing today are proven leaders in the safety movement of our industry.”

Other IME award winners

IME also honored four companies with its Tricia Appleton Award for their overall safety record. The companies earning this award are Enaex, Senex Explosives, Teledyne RISI and Vets Explosives.

Based on the lowest total recordable incident rate reported to the Occupational Safety & Health Administration, the award is given annually to IME member companies.

“It’s a privilege to congratulate these four companies for creating and adhering to a strong safety culture in the commercial explosives industry,” Mica says. “Each year, these awards become more competitive and highlight the exemplary efforts our companies are making to ensure a safe working environment for the dedicated men and women in our industry’s workforce.”

According to IME, the Tricia Appleton Award celebrates the legacy of Tricia Appleton, a longtime employee of Halliburton’s Jet Research Center. Appleton was an advocate for safety who pushed to recognize IME member companies with outstanding safety records. She died in 2003.

“Each year we give these awards we honor the legacy of Tricia Appleton,” says Tim O’Brien, president of Detotec North America and chairman of the IME board of governors. “This year, it’s an honor to recognize these four companies who have demonstrated excellence in the safety of the commercial explosives industry.”

Avatar photo

About the Author:

Kevin Yanik is editor-in-chief of Pit & Quarry. He can be reached at 216-706-3724 or kyanik@northcoastmedia.net.

Comments are closed